This blog is facilitated by the Missouri Association of School Librarians’ Gateway Readers Award Committee.

Because reading is the gateway to knowledge and lifelong learning, because the teen years are the gateway to adulthood, and because Missouri was the Gateway to the West, the Gateway Readers Award is for authors of books chosen by high school students in Missouri.Librarians serving young adults in school and public libraries recognize the need for books written for this audience. We know the quality of this writing is imperative so that as adults our patrons will continue to seek knowledge and recreation through well-written books.

The goals of the Gateway Readers Award are the following:

  1. To encourage Missouri young adults in grades nine through twelve to select and read quality literature that appeals to their needs, interests and reading levels.
  2. To recognize and honor outstanding works in young adult literature.
  3. To develop a cooperative relationship among schools, libraries and teens.
  4. To encourage the development of school and public library services to teens.

The 2013-2014 Committee Members

Past Chair
Amy Taylor
Region: Greater Kansas City
School’s name:  Lee’s Summit West High School

Lee Mitchell
Region: St. Louis Suburban
School’s name:  Marquette High School

Vice Chair
Jennifer Baldwin
Region: Southwest
School’s name: Jasper High School

Angie Wiegers
Region:  Greater Kansas City
School’s name:  Truman High School

2013-2014 – One Year Members

Linda Babcock
Region:  Northwest
School’s Name:  West Nodaway High School

Shannon Grieshaber
Region:  Saint Louis Suburban
School’s Name:  Ft. Zumwalt West High School

Kristy Johnson
Region:  Northwest
School’s name:  Central High School

Diane Richart
Region:  Southwest
School’s Name:  Nixa High School

2013-2015 – MLA Member
Carolyn Dietz
Region:  Saint Louis City
Library System:  St. Louis Public Library

2012-2013 Committee Members (Rotating Off)

Past Chair
Kay Bult
School’s name:  Grain Valley High School

One Year Members

Jennifer Millikan
School’s name: St. Joseph’s Academy

Linda Morgan
School’s name: Cabool High School

Mary Pensel
School’s name: Jackson High School

Brittany Shay
School’s name: Climax Springs R-IV

MLA Member

Lesley Lard
Library System: Mid-Continent Public Library
Branch:  Riverside
* Comments left on this blog do not necessarily represent the views of the Missouri Association of School Librarians.


10 thoughts on “About

  1. Hi! I am excited about the Gateway Quizzes, but it is asking me for a password to access them. I tried my MASL password and it doesn’t work. Thanks!

  2. I would like access to the Gateway quizzes and I know Amy sent me the password last spring, but I have lost that email.

    Could you sent it to me again?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s